avrdude: AVR device not responding

Post Reply
javiercuellar
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Aug 22, 2015 2:03 am

avrdude: AVR device not responding

Post by javiercuellar »

Hi

I have a Irduino Uno and a Irduino Yun Shield.
I am able to upload a sketch to the UNO.
I am able to connect to to the Yun Shield over the browser. Arduino Uno w/ATmega328P is selectecd for board type.


My problem is that using Arduino IDE to upload a sketch when UNO and Yun Shield is not posible. IDE is able to see Yun Shield on PORT menu, and BOARD I select "Arduino Uno -- Iduino Yun".

Always this message

avrdude: AVR device not responding
avrdude: initialization failed, rc=-1
Double check connections and try again, or use -F to override
this check.


I tried uploading new firmware to version 2.0.5 but same problem.
I know this is known issue because of link below, but I'm not able to fix it. Please help.

http://wiki.dragino.com/index.php?title ... to_the_AVR

PD. I tried with 2 differents Iduino Yun Shield and same problem.

Thaks

Javier
Mark
Posts: 1553
Joined: Thu Aug 06, 2015 9:19 am

Re: avrdude: AVR device not responding

Post by Mark »

http://forum.arduino.cc/index.php?topic=153921.0
don't know if this can help you or not..
javiercuellar
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Aug 22, 2015 2:03 am

Re: avrdude: AVR device not responding

Post by javiercuellar »

Thanks, but nit didn't help.

How can I test the SPI interface??
javiercuellar
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Aug 22, 2015 2:03 am

Re: avrdude: AVR device not responding

Post by javiercuellar »

Hi

An update after hours of testing.

If I updoad the Bridge example directly to UNO (without shield), turn off, plug Yun Shield, turn on... it will work!!!
So, both cards work porperly.

My problem is that I cannot upload a sketch over wifi.
The new firmware 2.0.5 has an AUTODETECT AVR PART but it just says "unknown".
BTW.... yes, I shortcut jumpers on UNO to put mega16u2 under reset mode.

Any help??

Thanks
brainbug
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Sep 28, 2015 5:13 am

Re: avrdude: AVR device not responding

Post by brainbug »

I had the same problem, you PROBABLY have either Uno board version v1 or v2, or some compatible board. I had a v2 board, and the problem is this :

http://www.ibuyopenwrt.com/index.php/2- ... le-problem

Basically, you need to connect to ssh of Yun shield, and set all those GPIO ports on HIGH ( so, dont copy/paste LOW line).

When you did that, use multimeter on ICSP port and test the voltages. Since you put all ports on "high" , everything should be 5V.
Mine had 2.7V on one pin, and that's exactly the problem.

http://gammon.com.au/images/ArduinoUno_R3_Pinouts.png

The thing is , Arduino Uno R3 has solved the voltage drop from LED13 (led on pin13), while R1 and R2 have that problem.

The solution for that problem is , desolder that LED from the board. No voltage drop.
javiercuellar
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Aug 22, 2015 2:03 am

Re: avrdude: AVR device not responding

Post by javiercuellar »

Code: Select all

The solution for that problem is , desolder that LED from the board. No voltage drop.
YES!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Thanks a lot Brianbug. That work perfect!!!!
jahwee
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Oct 21, 2015 5:36 pm

Re: avrdude: AVR device not responding

Post by jahwee »

Hi I have bought one of you shield and cant get sketches uploaded. I have tried removing the led connected to d13 and still no success. I ssh into the shield and use the commands to get the voltage and they are not 5V even after I have removed the Led. If I connect 5 volts on VIN and a ground the voltages still don't match with no arduino attached. Does that mean the shield is defective? BTW I have tried two different clone shields. Both work when sketches are uploaded to Uno.
jrainey
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Sep 18, 2016 1:35 pm

Re: avrdude: AVR device not responding

Post by jrainey »

Hi guys. I found this thread to be quite helpful. I had a similar problem with my Dragino YUN/Arduino UNO boards. Was able to configure the Dragino and connect via wifi, but unable to consistently load skethes to the UNO.

Was able sometimes to load a sketch after a reset, but only once. After that would get the rc=-1 return code. The sketch I was trying to load was using pin 13 as a serial data output line. After reading this thread, I connected a few dots
and fixed the problem by adding the following code to the setup() function of my sketch:

pinMode(13,OUTPUT);
digitalWrite(13,LOW);

This code is the first to execute.

I also switched the rest of the program to stop using pin 13 at all.

This turns off the LED, and keeps it off. I haven't had an issue since.

Glad that this worked out, as my soldering skills are mediocre at best.

Thanks for posting your experience.
Post Reply