avrdude: AVR device not responding
-
- Posts: 8
- Joined: Sat Aug 22, 2015 2:03 am
avrdude: AVR device not responding
Hi
I have a Irduino Uno and a Irduino Yun Shield.
I am able to upload a sketch to the UNO.
I am able to connect to to the Yun Shield over the browser. Arduino Uno w/ATmega328P is selectecd for board type.
My problem is that using Arduino IDE to upload a sketch when UNO and Yun Shield is not posible. IDE is able to see Yun Shield on PORT menu, and BOARD I select "Arduino Uno -- Iduino Yun".
Always this message
avrdude: AVR device not responding
avrdude: initialization failed, rc=-1
Double check connections and try again, or use -F to override
this check.
I tried uploading new firmware to version 2.0.5 but same problem.
I know this is known issue because of link below, but I'm not able to fix it. Please help.
http://wiki.dragino.com/index.php?title ... to_the_AVR
PD. I tried with 2 differents Iduino Yun Shield and same problem.
Thaks
Javier
I have a Irduino Uno and a Irduino Yun Shield.
I am able to upload a sketch to the UNO.
I am able to connect to to the Yun Shield over the browser. Arduino Uno w/ATmega328P is selectecd for board type.
My problem is that using Arduino IDE to upload a sketch when UNO and Yun Shield is not posible. IDE is able to see Yun Shield on PORT menu, and BOARD I select "Arduino Uno -- Iduino Yun".
Always this message
avrdude: AVR device not responding
avrdude: initialization failed, rc=-1
Double check connections and try again, or use -F to override
this check.
I tried uploading new firmware to version 2.0.5 but same problem.
I know this is known issue because of link below, but I'm not able to fix it. Please help.
http://wiki.dragino.com/index.php?title ... to_the_AVR
PD. I tried with 2 differents Iduino Yun Shield and same problem.
Thaks
Javier
Re: avrdude: AVR device not responding
http://forum.arduino.cc/index.php?topic=153921.0
don't know if this can help you or not..
don't know if this can help you or not..
-
- Posts: 8
- Joined: Sat Aug 22, 2015 2:03 am
Re: avrdude: AVR device not responding
Thanks, but nit didn't help.
How can I test the SPI interface??
How can I test the SPI interface??
-
- Posts: 8
- Joined: Sat Aug 22, 2015 2:03 am
Re: avrdude: AVR device not responding
Hi
An update after hours of testing.
If I updoad the Bridge example directly to UNO (without shield), turn off, plug Yun Shield, turn on... it will work!!!
So, both cards work porperly.
My problem is that I cannot upload a sketch over wifi.
The new firmware 2.0.5 has an AUTODETECT AVR PART but it just says "unknown".
BTW.... yes, I shortcut jumpers on UNO to put mega16u2 under reset mode.
Any help??
Thanks
An update after hours of testing.
If I updoad the Bridge example directly to UNO (without shield), turn off, plug Yun Shield, turn on... it will work!!!
So, both cards work porperly.
My problem is that I cannot upload a sketch over wifi.
The new firmware 2.0.5 has an AUTODETECT AVR PART but it just says "unknown".
BTW.... yes, I shortcut jumpers on UNO to put mega16u2 under reset mode.
Any help??
Thanks
Re: avrdude: AVR device not responding
I had the same problem, you PROBABLY have either Uno board version v1 or v2, or some compatible board. I had a v2 board, and the problem is this :
http://www.ibuyopenwrt.com/index.php/2- ... le-problem
Basically, you need to connect to ssh of Yun shield, and set all those GPIO ports on HIGH ( so, dont copy/paste LOW line).
When you did that, use multimeter on ICSP port and test the voltages. Since you put all ports on "high" , everything should be 5V.
Mine had 2.7V on one pin, and that's exactly the problem.
http://gammon.com.au/images/ArduinoUno_R3_Pinouts.png
The thing is , Arduino Uno R3 has solved the voltage drop from LED13 (led on pin13), while R1 and R2 have that problem.
The solution for that problem is , desolder that LED from the board. No voltage drop.
http://www.ibuyopenwrt.com/index.php/2- ... le-problem
Basically, you need to connect to ssh of Yun shield, and set all those GPIO ports on HIGH ( so, dont copy/paste LOW line).
When you did that, use multimeter on ICSP port and test the voltages. Since you put all ports on "high" , everything should be 5V.
Mine had 2.7V on one pin, and that's exactly the problem.
http://gammon.com.au/images/ArduinoUno_R3_Pinouts.png
The thing is , Arduino Uno R3 has solved the voltage drop from LED13 (led on pin13), while R1 and R2 have that problem.
The solution for that problem is , desolder that LED from the board. No voltage drop.
-
- Posts: 8
- Joined: Sat Aug 22, 2015 2:03 am
Re: avrdude: AVR device not responding
Code: Select all
The solution for that problem is , desolder that LED from the board. No voltage drop.
Thanks a lot Brianbug. That work perfect!!!!
Re: avrdude: AVR device not responding
Hi I have bought one of you shield and cant get sketches uploaded. I have tried removing the led connected to d13 and still no success. I ssh into the shield and use the commands to get the voltage and they are not 5V even after I have removed the Led. If I connect 5 volts on VIN and a ground the voltages still don't match with no arduino attached. Does that mean the shield is defective? BTW I have tried two different clone shields. Both work when sketches are uploaded to Uno.
Re: avrdude: AVR device not responding
Hi guys. I found this thread to be quite helpful. I had a similar problem with my Dragino YUN/Arduino UNO boards. Was able to configure the Dragino and connect via wifi, but unable to consistently load skethes to the UNO.
Was able sometimes to load a sketch after a reset, but only once. After that would get the rc=-1 return code. The sketch I was trying to load was using pin 13 as a serial data output line. After reading this thread, I connected a few dots
and fixed the problem by adding the following code to the setup() function of my sketch:
pinMode(13,OUTPUT);
digitalWrite(13,LOW);
This code is the first to execute.
I also switched the rest of the program to stop using pin 13 at all.
This turns off the LED, and keeps it off. I haven't had an issue since.
Glad that this worked out, as my soldering skills are mediocre at best.
Thanks for posting your experience.
Was able sometimes to load a sketch after a reset, but only once. After that would get the rc=-1 return code. The sketch I was trying to load was using pin 13 as a serial data output line. After reading this thread, I connected a few dots
and fixed the problem by adding the following code to the setup() function of my sketch:
pinMode(13,OUTPUT);
digitalWrite(13,LOW);
This code is the first to execute.
I also switched the rest of the program to stop using pin 13 at all.
This turns off the LED, and keeps it off. I haven't had an issue since.
Glad that this worked out, as my soldering skills are mediocre at best.
Thanks for posting your experience.